12
Jul
08

Do you remember those paper chains?

So I am now officially 12 weeks . . . 1/3 of the way done . . . the first trimester is over and I can’t wait to get out of here. I think we should do one of those paper chains, you know, when you put as many links as there are days left and then take one off day by day . . .

. . . it gives you something to look at as a count down to when I get to see all of your lovely faces.

Reflexes!! My fingers will soon begin to open and close, my toes will curl, my eye muscles will clench, and my mouth will make sucking movements. In fact, if you push my mommy’s tummy, I will squirm in response, although my mommy won’t be able to feel me. My intestines, which have grown so fast that they protrude into the umbilical cord, will start to move into my abdominal cavity about now, and my kidneys will begin excreting urine into my bladder.

Meanwhile, nerve cells are multiplying rapidly, and in my little brain, synapses are forming furiously. My face looks unquestionably human: My eyes have moved from the sides to the front of my head, and my ears are right where they should be. From crown to rump, your I am just over two inches long (about the size of a lime) and I weigh a whopping half an ounce.

3 Responses to “Do you remember those paper chains?”


  1. 1 Debbie
    Sunday, July 13, 2008 at 9:23 am

    A paperchain…what a great idea…we’d better get started making it. Oh baby_____, I can’t wait until those sweet opening and closing fingers can close around one of mine! Your mommy is doing such a great job of taking care of you…and your daddy is so sweet to her…you are going to be so blessed to have them as your parents!

  2. 2 Grammy
    Sunday, July 13, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    This Grammy completely agrees! By the way, now that you are squirming when someone pushed on you, you’ve undoubtedly already been feeling your grandmothers pushing on your mommy’s tummy – she’s got a little baby bump that you’ve been very busy creating! (Daddy has been just a little concerned that the grandmas have been pushing too hard trying to feel you, but we reassure him that you are quite alright in that very cushy, comfy and safe place you’ll be calling home until next January!)

    I think Mommy and Daddy should make a paper chain right away, so that when they move into their new apartment in a couple of weeks, they can hang it in your nursery and start the countdown! Just think, in a couple more months, we’ll be able to call you by name!!!! We can’t wait!!!

    Love you, sweet baby!
    XOXOXOX ~ Grammy


Leave a Reply

